2009/10 NCAA Dunk of the Year Tournament – Elite Eight


And then there were eight. The readers have spoken and we have listened, and the field for the 2009/10 NCAA Dunk of the Year Tournament has been reduced to these eight elite dunks. The Cal State Fullerton Titans dominated Round 1, with both of Gerard Anderson’s dunks winning their matchups while teammate Aaron Thompson advanced as well. Now Thompson and Anderson are going head-to-head for a spot in the Final Four.

Same voting rules as last round: you, the reader, vote for which dunk is the best between each pair (please only vote once perround – no ballot stuffing). Each round of voting will be open for a week and we’ll continue until we have crowned our champion. And, as an added incentive to vote, there will be prizes.

slam logo

SLAM magazine, the greatest basketball mag on the planet (due in no small part to my elegant prose frequently gracing its pages) has donated a SLAM prize pack (t-shirt, magazines, etc.) as a prize and, as well, we’ll also be giving away the always stylish Hoops Manifesto t-shirts. Every time you vote on a dunk you will be entered in the draw for a prize. To earn additional entries, retweet this article on Twitter or post a link on your Facebook page and we’ll give you an extra entry in the draw.

Without further ado, let’s get this show on the road.

Voting for the Elite Eight round ends Sunday, May 2nd at midnight Eastern. Voting ballot at the bottom of the article.

Game 1: Gerard Anderson (1) vs Trey McKinney-Jones

Gerard Anderson:



Trey McKinney-Jones:



Game 2: Travis Leslie vs Charles Garcia

Travis Leslie:



Charles Garcia:



Game 3: Marqus Blakely vs Lance Stephenson

Marqus Blakely:



Lance Stephenson:



Game 4: Aaron Thompson vs Gerard Anderson (2)

Aaron Thompson:



Gerard Anderson:




This round of the competition is over – please proceed to the Final Four round. 



About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto & The MMA Manifesto