gregg popovich mad

2011/12 NBA Awards: Coach of the Year

(Coach Popovich in the midst of his acceptance speech for this award)

With the NBA regular season coming to a close it’s time for awards week at The Hoops Manifesto.  We’ve teamed up with some of Bloguin’s best NBA writers to vote on who gets the (virtual) hardware.  Next up: Coach of the Year

Voting Panel: Jeff Fox from The Hoops Manifesto, Lives from Knicks Fanatics, College Wolf and Bonk from TWolves Blog, Philip Rossman-Reich from Orlando Magic Daily, and Don from With Malice.

Gregg Popovich
– San Antonio Spurs 

The San Antonio Spurs had no business going 50-16 this season.  Tim Duncan just turned 36 and played the least amount of minutes (28.2 per game) of his career.  Manu Ginobili missed almost half of the season (32 games).  Tony Parker, while only 29, has a ton of mileage on his odometer.  The rest of the roster is littered with role players and/or young, unheralded players.  Yet here the Spurs are, once again in the hunt for a title.  Kudos to you, Mr. Popovich – you are our choice for 2011/12 NBA Coach of the Year.

Others receiving votes: Tom Thibodeau, Frank Vogel

Previous Award Winners: Executive of the Year

Next up: Most Improved Player


About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto, The MMA Manifesto, & A Dry Heat.