2011/12 NBA Awards: Executive of the Year


With the NBA regular season coming to a close it’s time for awards week at The Hoops Manifesto.  We’ve teamed up with some of Bloguin’s best NBA writers to vote on who gets the (virtual) hardware.  First up: Executive of the Year

Voting Panel: Jeff Fox from The Hoops Manifesto, Lives from Knicks Fanatics, College Wolf and Bonk from TWolves Blog, Philip Rossman-Reich from Orlando Magic Daily, and Don from With Malice.

R.C. Buford – San Antonio Spurs General Manager

The San Antonio Spurs were the best team in the NBA this regular season, and they can thank their GM R.C. Buford for that.  Despite having an old, creaky roster, Buford has infused it with enough young, hungry talent to keep the Spurs humming along even with Tim Duncan playing limited minutes and Manu Ginobili missing significant time.  The team’s young core of Kawhi Leonard, Danny Green, DeJuan Blair, Gary Neal and Tiago Splitter all played big minutes and big roles for the team this year.  And all were added to the roster over the past few years despite San Antonio not having high draft picks or having to trade away any key pieces.  For that, R.C. Buford is our NBA Executive of the Year.

Others receiving votes: Mitch Kupchak, Sam Presti, Ernie Grunwald

Next up: Coach of the Year


About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto, The MMA Manifesto, & A Dry Heat.