grant hill 1991 ncaa title game alley-oop

2013/14 College Dunk of the Year Tournament – Quarterfinals

grant hill 1991 ncaa title game alley-oop

And then there were eight.  We selected 16 of the best dunks from the 2013/14 college basketball season and paired them up in a single elimination tournament.  Round 1 is in the books, and the field has been cut in half; the quarterfinals are here.

The rules are pretty simple: you, the reader, vote for which dunk is the best between each pair (please only vote once per day – no ballot stuffing – that’s why a valid e-mail address is required for each voting ballot). Each round of voting will be open for a week and we’ll continue until we have crowned our champion.

So let’s get the show on the road – voting for The Quarterfinals ends this Sunday at midnight Eastern.

Round 1 Results:

Javonte Douglas beat Jerami Grant (57% to 43%)

Deonte Burton #1 beat Brandon ‘Snap’ Peters (53% to 47%)

Deonte Burton #2 beat Raphiael Putney (54% to 46%)

Michael Qualls beat Fred Gulley III (55% to 45%)

Aaron Gordon beat Deonte Burton (51% to 49%)

James Young beat Jordan McRae (53% to 47%)

Eric Gaines beat Jordan Weethee (50.5% to 49.5%)

Tekele Cotton beat Markel Brown (80% to 20%)


Matchup 1:

Javonte Douglas (College of Central Florida)


Deonte Burton #1 (Nevada)


Matchup 2:

Deonte Burton #2 (Nevada)


Michael Qualls (Arkansas)


Matchup 3:

Aaron Gordon (Arizona)


James Young (Kentucky)


Matchup 4:

Eric Gaines (Campbellsville)


Tekele Cotton (Wichita State)


This round of voting is now closed.  Click here for the semifinals.

About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto, The MMA Manifesto, & A Dry Heat.