mike brey

Bloguin’s 2011 NCAA Coach of the Year


With the NCAA regular season coming to a close and the NCAA Tournament just around the corner, it’s time for awards week at The Hoops Manifesto.  We’ve teamed up with some of the best NCAA writers on the web to vote on who gets the (virtual) hardware.  First up: Coach of the Year

Voters: Jeff Fox from The Hoops Manifesto, Flounder from Leftover Hot Dog, Philip from Rise Northwestern, Marco Radenkovich from Horns to the Hardwood and Ray Bala from The Can Ball Report.

2011 Bloguin’s NCAA Coach of the Year

Mike Brey, Notre Dame

All those who had the Notre Dame Fighting Irish pegged as a legit Final Four contender heading into this season, please raise your hands.  Now put your hands down, you dirty, filthy liars!  Not much was expected from Notre Dame this year after losing all-everything Luke Harangody in the offseason as well as starting point guard Tory Jackson.  To compound matters, the Irish dwell in the deepest, most competitive conference in the whole nation, the Big East.  But, lo and behold, here we are days away from Selection Sunday and Notre Dame is in the running for a number one seed, currently holding a 25-5 record including a stellar 14-4 mark in their dog-eat-dog conference.  For these accomplishments, Notre Dame’s Mike Brey is Bloguin’s 2011 NCAA Coach of the Year.

Up next: All-American Teams

Past awards: Freshman of the Year, All-Freshman Team.

About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto, The MMA Manifesto, & A Dry Heat.