Bloguin’s NBA Awards: Coach of the Year

<strong><a target=
(ok, ok, fine – we’ll give you the award – just stop yelling at us)

With the NBA regular season coming to a close it’s time for awards week at The Hoops Manifesto.  We’ve teamed up with some of Bloguin’s best NBA writers to vote on who gets the (virtual) hardware.  Next up: Coach of the Year.

Voters: Jeff Fox from The Hoops Manifesto, Philip from Orlando Magic Daily, College Wolf and Dan Bonk from TWolves Blog, Aaron Hodges from Knicks Fanatics and Sean François from from Hoop Heads North.

Bloguin’s NBA Coach of the Year
Gregg Popovich – San Antonio Spurs

The idea of the San Antonio Spurs still being a dominant NBA power was all but considered dead heading into this season.  Theirtotal regular season wins had declined each season since they won 63 in 2005/06.  Key contributors Richard Jefferson, Manu Ginobili, Tim Duncan, Matt Bonner and Antonio McDyess were all on the wrong side of 30-years-old.  And the team’s blueprint of pounding the ball inside to Duncan and working the offense through him was archaic in today’s guard dominated NBA.  So what did our choice for Coach of the Year, Gregg Popovich, do?  He coaxed 61 wins out of his roster, despite Duncan playing and contributing the least in his storied career.  He revamped the offense, gave the ball to Ginobili and turned the team into one of the League’s most explosive.  And he’s got the Spurs aiming for yet another NBA title.  The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Others receiving votes: Tom Thibodeau, Doug Collins, George Karl

Next up: Sixth Man of the Year

Previous awards: Most Improved Player

About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto, The MMA Manifesto, & A Dry Heat.